Transphobia and Cissexual Privilege

26Aug08

I aspire to the kind of clarity, thoroughness, and right-fucking-on-ity of this post.

(Incidentally, the post also makes the point about ogling I was trying to make last week and never, I felt, really clarified, which is: No, it’s not enough to say “I’m just hootin’ and hollerin’! It’s not like I’m really out there raping and killing women!” No, you’re not. But your hoot-n-holler supports an entire worldview by which raping and killing women is okay, and of which women are justifiably afraid. Which I’d imagine goes for trans women, too, in ways I have no real authority to explain.)

One Response to “Transphobia and Cissexual Privilege”

  1. Yes, thank you! That’s exactly the point I was trying to make.

    Thank you for the kind words, too.


Leave a Reply

